Nebraska Bar Exam
Select Bar Exam State:
Nebraska Board of Law Examiners
Nebraska State Bar Commission
635 South 14th Street, Suite #200
P. O. Box 81809
Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-1809
Telephone: (402) 475-7091
Toll Free: (800) 927-0117
FAX: (402) 475-7098
BAR EXAM FORMAT
Nebraska administers the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE), which is a 2-day exam.
Day 1: Written portion of the exam
AM: 6 Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) questions (30 minutes each)
PM: 2 Multistate Performance Test (MPT) questions (90 minutes each)
Day 2: Full-day Multistate Bar Exam (MBE), consisting of 200 multiple-choice questions
AM: Morning MBE session (100 questions)
PM: Afternoon MBE session (100 questions)
- Constitutional Law
- Criminal Law/Procedure
- Real Property
MEE/Nebraska Essay Subjects:
- Commercial Paper
- Conflict of Laws
- Family Law
- Federal Civil Procedure
- Secured Transactions
- Trusts & Future Interests
- plus all MBE subjects
Multistate Performance Test:
“Closed universe” practical problem using instructions, factual data, cases, statutes and other reference material supplied by examiners.
BAR EXAM DATES
The Nebraska Bar Exam is administered on the last Tuesday and Wednesday in February and July.
2014 Winter: February 25 and 26
2014 Summer: July 29 and 30
FILING FEES AND DEADLINES
Applications must be filed by November 1st for the February exam and by April 1st for the July exam. No late applications accepted.
Application fee: $490
Application fee without a passing MPRE score: $590
Admission on motion: $925
BAR EXAM FILING ADVICE
Take Appropriate Steps To Ensure Timely Delivery: Your application is one of thousands that will be sent to the same office address. Use Certified Mail with Return Receipt Requested or other appropriate verifiable means (e.g., FedEx, UPS) when sending all correspondence to the bar examiners so that you have proof regarding when your application was postmarked, when it arrived and who received it. Check with the state bar examiner’s office before sending your application regarding what types of delivery they will accept.
Payment: Application fees are generally non-refundable. Verify acceptable forms of payment with your state (i.e., no personal checks). If you apply to take the bar exam, pay all fees and subsequently withdraw, you must contact the Bar Examiners. You may have to submit a new application, a new filing fee and new copies of related documents in order to sit for the exam at a future date.
Employment History: Many states’ bar applications require information regarding your past employment since the age of 18 (i.e., name and address of employer, reason for leaving). Begin compiling a list of employers and their current addresses so that you have this information for your application.
Character References: Many states’ bar applications require a list of persons who can attest to your good character. Begin compiling a list of non-relatives who have known you for at least two (2) years who can vouch for your integrity.
Driver Abstracts: Some bar applications require you to produce a Driver’s Abstract from all states in which you were licenced to drive. Contact the Division of Motor Vehicles in each state and request the most complete abstract of your driving record that is available.
Fingerprints: In some states you must submit your fingerprints on a special card with your exam application. Have your fingerprints rolled by a professional law enforcement officer onto the forms provided by the bar examiners.
GRADING AND RESULTS
MBE and essay scores are scaled and combined to determine if a passing score of 135 was achieved. Results are released in mid-April for the February exam and in mid-September for the July exam.
Admission on Motion
Nebraska provides reciprocity to an applicant who is in good standing and has either (i) previously passed an examination equivalent (MBE, MEE, or MPRE) to that administered in Nebraska or (ii) been licensed, active, and in good standing for five of the seven years immediately preceding the application.
Acceptance of MBE Score
Nebraska does not accept an MBE score from an exam taken in another jurisdiction.
May take bar exam prior to graduation if receive degree from approved law school within 60 days after exam.
Select Bar Exam State: